I Made (vegan) Sushi!!

For so long I thought it would be a daunting task to make sushi. I mean there has to be a reason they have classes on how to make it and a reason for it costing a stupid amount. Just for a small package of vegetable sushi from Smith’s is $7. It’s just cucumber, avocado, and carrots, it can’t cost that much to make..

Well after craving it constantly and getting tired of not being able to afford it or wasting money on the little rolls at Smith’s I decided I would try to make my own. So I bought a rolling mat, wooden spoon, nori, and all the fix-ins and I had a go at it. And I am SO glad I did! It really wasn’t that hard. I used a mandolin slicer to slice up my veggies, cooked the rice on the stovetop, and rolled some up as I watched a YouTube video showing me how. And wuala! I had sushi. The only complaint would be that my seaweed is a little chewy.. I read this could be due to my rice being too wet, poor quality seaweed, or letting it sit too long. So I will try to use less water in my rice next time and hope that works. I really hope it’s not the seaweed as I bough a 50 pack O.o

Here are some pictures I took 🙂 The las pic is some seaweed free sushi I made just for Rylan. He wasn’t fond of the stickiness of the rice and reacted like a cat with tape on it’s paw =P

20140503-121428.jpg

20140503-121521.jpg

20140503-121555.jpg

20140503-121633.jpg

20140503-121704.jpg

Thanks for stopping by =] Xx

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

