Just a Rant

I was talking to two of my uncles about school and told them I was changing my major to German. Both of them bluntly told me that I was going for a “useless degree” and I’d be better off with a degree in “underwater basket weaving”. I tried to stick up for myself, I told them that this is something I enjoy, that I’m passionate about I also told them I was going to minor in business or teaching. Still, they reassured me that it was useless. I know their intentions were well meaning, but fuck shoot, what happened to “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”?

I am a intelligent and mature woman. It’s like they assumed I’m just blindly changing my major. But, I have spent hours upon hours looking into job possibilities for a German major. I’ve checked the salaries and I know I won’t get rich with this major. I might even end up at some low end job and work towards a second bachelors degree. And I am okay with that. Because this is my life and my dream.

All in all, I’m just tired of the negativity I deal with so often. Most of us are just trying to do our best in this complex crazy life. We need to give each other a break and be nice for a change. Give advice instead of being condescending. Be supportive instead of judgmental. Oh how this world could be a much better place.

Thanks for listening reading. Much love! Xx

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Just a Rant

  1. Ruth Clyde says:

    I sorry some people don’t think before speaki
    ng

  2. You are so right! What HAS happened to “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”? You should definitely follow your dream. It is always the right thing to do when it’s something you are passionate about. Do what makes you happy – then nothing else matters.

Leave a Reply

