Just Three songs

Music plays a huge part in my life. It seems most songs I listen to end up with memories tied to them. Sometimes these memories are from me relating to the lyrics at that time such as: Love The Way You Lie by Eminem and Rihanna reminds me of a bad break up with one of my exes. And sometimes the memories are from me listening to the songs repeatedly during a certain time in my life, like the album by It’s Alive reminds me of driving to Colorado. Of all the music I have (well over 50 GB worth), there are three songs that carry the most meaning and the strongest memories. Here they are (in no particular order) with short explanations on why they mean so much:

Lego House by Ed Sheeran

This song was shown to me by my ex D. We often referred to building our “Lego house” through our relationship. I found comfort in this song through many of our hurdles and listened to it often. When Rylan was a newborn he struggled to fall asleep and I would try to sing to him the couple of lullabies I knew (twinkle twinkle little star, and soft kitty warm kitty). It got tiring singing the same two very short songs, so one night I started singing Lego House to him as I had already almost memorized it. So it’s kind of mine and Rylan’s song now even though it still does have the memories of my ex tied to it.

Rylynn by Andy McKee

You might be able to guess by the title why this song is important to me. Rylan was named after it. I was introduced to Andy McKee’s album Art of Motion by D as well. One day D asked me what my favorite song was on the album and I told him it was Rylynn, this happened to be his favorite song as well. When I was about 2-3 months pregnant I had the idea to name my baby Rylynn (if a girl) or Rilan (if a boy). I later changed the spelling to Rylan as I though it looked nicer.

 If You Get There Before I Do by Colin Ray

Without fail, if this song ever plays, I will cry. My dad used to sing this song to my step mom, Allison, before she passed away. It always brings me back to when I was in Michigan when I was 16. That was the last time I saw Allison. I miss her so so much.

 

Welp that’s all for now. This was meant to be yesterdays post but I sick baby kept me from finishing it. I might post again today as I might be finding out if I got accepted into University of Utah!!

Thanks for reading. Xx

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

