Cool mom vs happy mom

I’ve always thought I wanted to be the cool mom. Maybe it’s because I feel like I need to try to make people like me. Maybe it’s because I think Rylan would want to have a cool mom. But I had a recent experience that made me care much less about being the cool mom.

It all started when I wanted to learn how to Jumpstyle dance (if you don’t know what that is click here fore a YouTube video). I was so excited about teaching myself Jumpstyle that I told my friends about it all enthusiastically. That enthusiasm quickly turned to embarrassment after a couple of my friends laughed at me. Apparently Jumpstyle is no longer cool; it’s old and out of style. I felt as though I was being bullied in school again. Honestly, I didn’t even think adults laughed at others for being uncool, I seriously thought that was a kid/teenager thing.

So decided that I would just give it up. I even looked up what dances were “cool” and “popular” right now. I wasn’t thrilled. I could never dance in a way that looks like you’re trying to prove to someone that you’re good in bed.. It’s just not me.

But. After venting to a couple friends who I trusted not to laugh at me I started thinking much more about my decision to give up trying to learn something I enjoyed. They told me that I should do what I love, ignore what others think, and “Life is a lot more freeing when you care less about what people think and more about what you think.“. I started thinking, what would I like Rylan to do? What values do I want him to learn? I want him to learn exactly what my friends told me: do what you love and fuck ignore the naysayers. And I know the best way to teach him values is by example. Seriously, telling your kid not to smoke as you cough smoke out of your own lungs doesn’t work. This is common knowledge, right? Anyways, I digress.. It’s been a more than a week since I decide I was going to learn Jumpstyle. I haven’t quit. I actually can do a small simple routine now! And I seriously feel great. I’m glad I didn’t give it up. It makes me feel like a kid again, like I can just let go and be myself and it’s great!

From here on out, I’m going to do my best to be a happy mom, not a cool mom. I’m going to teach my son, by example, that it’s important not to put others down just because they are different and that the people who do that do not add much value to your life. I’m going to teach him that being cool doesn’t bring true happiness but doing what you love and enjoy does.

And.. Maybe one day it will be cool to just do what makes you happy! Wouldn’t that be great? 😉

Thanks for reading! Xx

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Cool mom vs happy mom

  1. […] … exercise more. – Well, I didn’t do too bad on this one. I was doing Jumpstyle everyday until my ankle decided it was going to pretend like it was getting stabbed every time I […]

Leave a Reply

