So much news so little time

Warning: This is kind of a long post. Sorrys.

It’s been a crazy last few weeks. And I know I’m going to lose followers from this post and I’ve braced myself for some nasty comments. But I know I’m not the only one that’s been in my situation, so here goes.

I’ve given up veganism to follow a paleo diet.A Simple Paleo Infographic

I spent a week beating myself up for wanting to start eating meat again. I felt guilty, afraid, and most of all stuck. I didn’t feel healthy and I was struggling to provide myself and my son with good balanced nutritional meals. After doing a ton of research I ran into a paleo diet and started reading studies and posts comparing the two. It was clear to me that quitting grains and processed fake meats for a more natural protein source of grass-fed beef and organic chicken was just plain out logical. The more studies I read the more I felt lied to about how unhealthy meat is and how healthy a vegan diet is. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I know that you can be healthy on a vegan diet, I have seen proof of this. But it requires a lot of time, work, and makes traveling a fuck of a lot harder. With the paleo diet I can cook me and Rylan up a nice balanced meal with a source of protein and a bunch of veggies in no time. It takes little thought and very little time and it just feels right. I feel healthier, have more energy, and I’m a lot less stressed about food. Kudos to ya’ll who can maintain a healthy vegan diet and embrace it. It’s just not for me anymore.

After discovering the paleo diet I discovered CrossFit which apparently goes hand in hand with the diet. I fell in love instantly and was so excited when I found a discount to go to a local box for a month. My first day was yesterday. I was so nervous you would have thought i was going on a first date! But I got there and was warmly welcomed by a member who told me how things usually play out. And once the coach was done with the previous class I was introduced to her and she was nothing less than a sweetheart. I was the weakest and least fit there but I in no way felt judged or out of place. Only motivated to get stronger and fitter! I was a little very overwhelmed with the new lifts I was learning as I have never really used a barbell in my life but the other members reassured me that I was doing well and not to worry if I don’t catch on immediately. All-in-all I’m convinced that CrossFit is going to have a big place in my life.

Another thing that’s happened in the last couple weeks (10 days ago actually) was I was in a little-ish car wreck. I was driving stopped at a stop light when it turned green and I started to go and suddenly I saw a big Cadillac Escalade  coming right at my passenger side. I slammed on my breaks and they swerved but they sill tor off the front of my moms car and scared the ****ing crap out of me. Luckily Rylan didn’t seem to notice much. He looked confused for five minutes after I got him out of the car and took him to the side of the road but after that he just wanted to play. I had headaches and neck pain for a couple of days but all is well now. I’m now convinced that insurance companies are useless as they are taking their time accepting liability. And the other driver is saying I ran the red light.. She was the one with the ticket and luckily I had witnesses, so it’s just a matter of time till her insurance pays for everything. I’m pretty sure she sped up to get through the light as there was no way she was only going 35 mph (the speed limit on her street). Or she was texting as she was a 19-year-old girl… Who knows. All I know is that she is an irresponsible liar who has now made driving for me a task full of anxiety.

Here’s some pics of the car…

IMG_2730.JPG

The SUV that hit me and landed in the grass.. I don’t see how she would have skid that far if she was going 35 mph..

IMG_2729.JPG

The cops that were here were so freaking nice.

IMG_2851.JPG

IMG_2848.JPG

Anyways.. That’s all I have to write about today. I will post some pics of Rylan soon. So stay tuned ^^

Thanks for reading. Xx

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “So much news so little time

  1. Kimberly says:

    Don’t worry about what people think about your diet or your blog. Sure you might lose some, but you might also gain even more. No one lives in your shoes, but you. I’ve learned to be comfortable with my decisions, because some one will judge anything I do.

    I’m sorry about your accident and very thankful you saw it coming. It looks like it could have been much worse, if you weren’t paying attention.

    • susangrattan says:

      Thank you so much!! You’re definitely right about there always being someone who will judge what you do.

      And it definitely could have been worse. It was the scariest thing ever.

      Thanks for your kind words. The world needs more people like you ^^

Leave a Reply

